Book club?

Obviously a welcome message but also a description of what this forum is about. Also a few tips about using the forum and associated pages.

Book club?

Postby Andrea on Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:51 pm

Hi Neill -- as the administrator, I was wondering if you could add a new thread at the top level entitled " book club" -- that is, if others think this would be appropriate?

There have been quite a few comments about books from several people e.g. Dave's review below, and it would be great to quote all of these under a single topic, but in a way that any new book would have its own thread so that others could contribute their comments/questions.
Thanks,
Andrea

Dave H wrote:Sort of response to Andrea's message dated 27th October regarding the boook Hidden Connections.

I am not very good at book reviews and it is a fairly difficult book to review so I hope my comments make sense.

It is a follow on to theWeb of Life and builds on some ideas in that book so I wonder if I should have read that first.
Part 1 looks at a theorictical framework covering nature of life, nature of mind and nature of social reality. Part 2 looks at the application of this framework to management of human organisations, economic globalisation, a systemic analysis of issues asoicated with the problems of biotechnology and the state of the world particularly looking at environmental and social problems . There is an epilogue looking the conflict between the rise of global capitalism and the creation of sustainable communities.

I considered Part 1 and the epilogue to be very good though the entuire book has raised many questions in my mind and givem me alot of different insights into a range of issues. Also the epilogue makes you very aware of the conflict between trends.